Claimed: Windows of Contention: Europe (1/2)

13.jpg

VHL Windows of Contention: Europe

Last week, I took a quick look at the next time we thought some North American teams might be contending. This week, we naturally swing to the other side of the coin and look at the – honestly, more straightforward – European Conference.

Again, these projections are just a snapshot in time and don’t reflect what might happen in the future or GMs’ plans. I’m an analyst, not Melisandre. But for now, here’s what I’m thinking:

:col: Cologne Express: Season 58-60

I honestly even thought about making the beginning of the scale Season 59, but I think five seasons of rebuilding would make anybody a bit cranky. Vernon von Axelberry has said publicly that he’s committed to this rebuild, but it’s clear that it’s going to take a while—the cupboard’s completely bare except for himself and one forthcoming GM player. Out of any team in the league, even Seattle, Cologne’s the furthest out.

This year’s first round pick, likely first or second, and Calgary’s pick, likely fourth or fifth, is a good way towards building that base. But if Cologne doesn’t have some lottery magic, then it’s likely Season 57 at the earliest that those picks will contribute, meaning one or two years of relying on the lottery. The pre-Season 58 offseason will likely be an interesting one in Cologne though—not the least of which because, if it looks like the team’s on the verge of contention, Rudy Ying lurks at the end of his rookie contract.

:dav: HC Davos Dynamo: Season 56-58